Ole Monterey Golf Club

201 Tinker Creek Lane, Roanoke, VA  24019

OLE MONTEREY FACTS

COURSE RATING

Men: 
Blue Tees:
71.3/120
White Tees:
69.7/116
Gold Tees:
65.8/110

Women:
Gold Tees:
70.9/119
Red Tees: 
69.7/115


Click here for SCORECARD >>

  • 18-hole regulation course
  • Built in 1920 
  • Public daily-fee golf course
  • 6,712 yards from the longest tees for a par of 71 
  • Managed by Peter Bracey, Head Golf Professional

William Fleming lived, as well as the grave site for him and his wife.  There is a historical marker on Hollins Road citing the history of Colonel William Fleming here at Ole Monterey.

Ole Monterey Golf Club is always in great condition and is the only public golf course in the Roanoke Valley. Well-maintained small greens, tight fairways, five sets of tees and creeping out of bounds, provide a true test of golf for any player and their skill level. Come on back to Ole Monterey where we pride ourselves on our course condition and our friendly service.

HISTORY

Ole Monterey Golf Club was built in 1920 and is the second oldest club in the Roanoke Valley. Ole Monterey is located within the city limits of Roanoke, Virginia and has postcard-like views of Downtown Roanoke, Mill Mountain Star and the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Ole Monterey has a rich history in the Roanoke Valley, where a great deal of our senior players got their start in golf by working as a caddie in their younger years.  Ole Monterey has hosted the Roanoke Valley Open, an annual invitational tournament in the 1960's.  Sam Snead and Arnold Palmer played friendly matches during the same period.

The Ole Monterey property has the unique distinction of having the house where 

ABOUT THE COURSE